Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Teachers should not make their social or political views known to students in the classroom.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Whether teachers should make their social or political views known to students in the classroom has triggered long-term debated issues. Some are adamant that expressing the statement might influence students' views, while others consider it is a problem. In my view, the former is more acceptable. More reasons and examples are shed light on as follows.

First and Foremost, teachers' role is to cultivate students' multi-aspect thinking, and expressing their social or political views to students might influence their views. For instance, teachers usually raise some issue of whether the government should stop using nuclear power. The ideal way for discussing is to lead students to brainstorm to propose different aspects of the statement, and it makes students learn to put themselves in the other's place so that they might not fall into disputes when they discuss this issue with others. On the other hand, expressing teachers' view of nuclear power might cause students to be affected by the preconceived view, because teachers frequently are the learning goal for students, which they might admire and expect themselves can be as smart and wise as teachers.

In addition, it is essential for teachers to be objective and fair roles in the school, and stating their social or political views might break these images. Students in the school usually have arguments because of different views, and teachers should be fair and objective to stop students' fight and not be partial to each student. It is because that people are apt to have a positive image of people who have the same views. Thus, when teachers teach them not to dispute and argue, they sometimes express their views unintentionally to students, which might make students learn that this view is correct and unquestionable.

In conclusion, teachers should pay attention to avoid their statements being known to students. It is because teachers' role of leading students to have multi-aspect thinking and facing every dispute in objectiveness is indispensable.