When old buildings stand on ground that modern planners feel could be better used for modern purposes, modern development should be given precedence over the preservation of historic buildings.

Each oldEach old buildings stand on ground all have their own distinctive history. It is a valuable treasure for us to preserve them and it will be regretful for us if we remove them from the ground to develop for modern purposes. Therefore, I consider that modern development should not be given precedence over the preservation of historic buildings, except those countries which are struggling with poverty.

First, old buildings that stand on ground have many features documenting our ancestors’ lives at that time. Many of them have instructive meanings such as a castle or fort, which teach us how perilous is the war. We can retrospect our ancestor’s lives by entering these old buildings. For example, Provintia, a national monument castle in Taiwan, is made by Dutch when they come to Taiwan in the 17 century. It was a business center at that time, so we can realize that how people live at that time and what business do they do.

Moreover, for those countries which already have a sound foundation for the economy, they should preserve those old buildings. Those old buildings not only can transform into museums to earn money but also can present their cultural power. It can appeal to lots of tourists to come to their countries to experience the different cultures and the wisdom of ancestors. It is a wonderful plan to those countries. Therefore, there is no idea for them to keep insisting modern development should be precedent over the preservation of old buildings.

However, some countries still struggle against poverty can partly put modern development to be precedent over preservation. Because they need to feed themselves, it is still the most important thing for them. Without a doubt, modern development is the best way to consolidate their financial foundation. It can provide plenty of jobs for them to feed themselves. However, it doesn’t mean that they can destroy all old buildings to transform them into factories or commercial buildings. They still need to preserve these old buildings to make their citizens know that what environment do their ancestors live in in the past. In this way, they will be more cherish to their modern lives.

In contrast to the statement, I cannot agree that modern development should be precedence over the preservation of historic buildings, except for poverty countries.