In surveys Mason City residents rank water sports (swimming, boating, and fishing) among their favorite recreational activities. The Mason River flowing through the city is rarely used for these pursuits, however, and the city park department devotes little of its budget to maintaining riverside recreational facilities. For years there have been complaints from residents about the quality of the river's water and the river's smell. In response, the state has recently announced plans to clean up Mason River. Use of the river for water sports is, therefore, sure to increase. The city government should for that reason devote more money in this year's budget to riverside recreational facilities.

The author claims that use of the flowing water of Mason River for water sport is sure to increase so the city government should devote more money in this year's budget to riverside recreational facilities. To support the conclusion, he cites various evidences. Although these evidences appear to bolster the argument, a meticulous analysis will show otherwise. So the author needs to cite the following specific evidences to make the argument more sound.

1) The physical structure of the river.

First of all the author assumes that the physical structure of the Mason River is suitable for the water supports. It is possible that the physical structure of the river is extremely vertical so that the boating and swimming is extremely hard. If this was the case, then devoting money in this year's budget to riverside recreational facilities will be unwarranted.

2) The purity of flowing water in Mason river.

Second of all, the author presumes that, just cleaning up the water and removing smell of the water will increase the use of the water for recreational facilities. Perhaps, the water in the river in mixed with lead and other harmful chemicals. It is possible that, the water in the Mason river is very toxic for the human body. If this was the case, then the author's conclusion becomes unjustified and specious.

3) The location of the Mason river.

Third of all, the writer presumes that the location of the Mason river lies on the place where ever people easily convey. Perhaps, the road condition to go to the Mason river is considerable bad and very risky to commute even if it flows through the city. If this was the case then the government money to riverside recreational facilities in not appropriate and doesn't hold water.

In conclusion, it is possible that.. However, as it stands now, the author's argument relies on three unfounded assumptions which render the argument unpersuasive at best and specious at worst. Thus, the author needs to provide the specific evidences on three fronts: the physical structure of the river, the purity of flowing water in Mason river, the location of the Mason river.