In surveys Mason City residents rank water sports (swimming, boating and fishing) among their favorite recreational activities. The Mason River flowing through the city is rarely used for these pursuits, however, and the city park department devotes little of its budget to maintaining riverside recreational facilities. For years there have been complaints from residents about the quality of the river's water and the river's smell. In response, the state has recently announced plans to clean up Mason River. Use of the river for water sports is therefore sure to increase. The city government should for that reason devote more money in this year's budget to riverside recreational facilities.

The budgeting department of the city government believes that cleaning the Mason River and building water sports facilities will increase the uses of the river from citizens in the Mason City because they have been receiving complaints about the water quality from local residents. Ostensibly, increasing amount of money devoted to the Mason River would lead to more uses from the citizens. However, before the plan is implemented, the budgeting department of the city government needs to address some questions about its possible flaws.

First of all, the decision-maker needs to ask how many percents of the residents have complained about the quality of the water of the Mason River. If the majority of the residents actually think that the water quality is pleasant, there might be no real need to clean the river. To figure out if the cleaning is necessary, one thing the government can do is to compare the river water quality parameters with the main rivers in other cities. If the quality of water river does not show a significant difference with other cities' river, the cleaning cost could possibly be saved. The government can also implement a survey to all citizens about their opinion on the water quality, therefore it would be easy to figure out if the complaints about river water and its smell are representative enough.

Furthermore, the author assumes that the people in the city who enjoy water sports would love to use Mason River as the site for sports activities. However, there is no evidence to show that they will certainly prefer the river other than indoor pools for swimming, or lakes nearby for fishing. To make sure the money that will be devoted to improving the riverside environment would literally facilitate the use of the river, the budgeting department of the city government needs to administrate a survey on people's favorite places for water sports. If there is a clear preference towards Mason River, it would be more convincing that spending money on building Mason River for sports use is a good spend of the government's budgets.

Finally, the decision-maker assumes that the current riverside recreational facilities are not heavily used by the residents because in the past little money was spent to maintain them. However, the budgeting department of the city government needs to figure out if there is any other reason that little money was devoted to facility maintaining, for example, they could be in good condition and there was no necessity to repair or maintain them. There could be other reasons that people did not enjoy using them, for example, the location of the Mason River is too far away or the river-surrounding environment is not accessible enough for families with kids or elderly people. The city government should investigate the real reason why the current facilities are not widely used by residents and develop budgeting plan accordingly.

In conclusion, there are many questions the city government needs to answer before using this plan from the budgeting department. They need to look carefully at the needed pieces of evidence of the percentage of complaining residents, the preference of water sports location and the reason for low past budgeting on current recreational facilities.