The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company.

"According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

According to the memo, the director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company believes that allowing advertising positive reviews for the Super Screen-produced movies to reach the public can facilitate raising the people's awareness of their movies, because the super screen movies encountered decreased attendance rate but increased positive reviews. However, before drawing this conclusion, the director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company needs to examine several pieces of evidence to prove his or her budgeting policy next year.

First, the director of the movie company needs to know if the reviews of the super screen movie can be viewed by the public. If yes, then there is a chance that the public already knew the positive feedback for the specific Super Screen movies but there are some other reasons that prevent them from going to the cinema to watch the super screen movies, for example, the price is higher than regular movies which may be less affordable. In this case, advertising the good reviews more intensively would not help to increase the attendance rate of super screen movies. The budget should be spent on lower down the movie ticket price.

Furthermore, the director of the super screen movie company should investigate if the increased positive reviews only happened to a specific type of super screen movies. If so, it may mean that the public was only interested in that kind of super screen movies instead of all of them. And the drop in attendance might be a result of the cinemas showing the types of super screen movies that the viewers were not in fond of. The director should administer a survey on the movie type that the audience enjoys most and increase the percentage of that specific kind of movies next year. In this case, the director of the movies company can also save their advertising budget.

Finally, the decision maker needs to consider that if the positive reviews on their Super Screen-produced movies can represent the preference of the public. If the Super Screen-produced movies only intrigued a special group of movie fans, their positive reviews on the movies might not be able to arouse the masses to come to the cinemas for Super Screen-produced movies. More demographic information about the viewers' who wrote the positive reviews should be explored to precisely advertise the Super Screen-produced movies to the potential audience in the public that shares similar interests with previous satisfied reviewers.

In conclusion, before allocating budget to advertising, the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company should gather more supporting information on the current accessibility of the positive reviews by the public, the type of movies that received positive reviews, and the reviewers group who provided the satisfying feedback.