A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

As many people may think that a fixed curriculum for before the college-level study could be helpful for students to adopt fundamental knowledge, however, there might be more benefits to endorse a customized education for middle school students to embrace a greater future success.

First, it is common and normal that individuals develop interests in different disciplinaries, and become specialized in a certain area before they choose majors when they are enrolled in colleges. Shaping the high-school level classes to a single form could decrease the variety of subjects and leave the teenagers fewer options to go with their special interests. For example, the same curriculum for the whole nation may not include special education of carpenter or traditional Chinese, but a student who has talent in certain subjects or areas should be able to gain the teaching resource he or she needs from the middle school level education.

Second, teenagers may not completely realize what they would like to specialize in for the rest of their life when they need to make the choice after they get into college, however, increasing exposure to multiple subjects and areas during middle school time can significantly help them to obtain the knowledge they need for future life decisions. Having varied exposure provided by a customized curriculum could help them save the time of trying in their future education and career.

Although a fixed identical national curriculum could culture the students all over the country to have the same knowledge and life skills, however, individuals in different areas of the country may actually need a different kind of skills set. For example, students living in multi-population areas might find that learning Spanish or another second popular language is a must for better communicating with the local residents, but for students in a mostly single-ethnic suburb, learning a language chosen by the national curriculum might not be the best use of school teaching resource, since they won't have the equal opportunity to practice the language in daily life, and it might be a better option for them to learn the class when they enter universities or start to have the need to use a second language. In that case, a universally required curriculum for the whole nation is not the most suitable education for all middle-school level students.

In conclusion, having the education system in different areas of the nation to develop the pre-college level curriculum that aligns with their own best of interests would be a better option than having a nation-wide same curriculum that may ignore some specialties of the students' individual and the local area.