The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

The question of balance between cooperation and competition has received increasing attention in recent decades. Young people, who are the future of society and should be prepared to become a future leader in the government, are under examine with greater scrutiny. Take the case at hand, would it be better to encourage the young to cultivate their sense of competition or cooperation? While it is undeniable that instilling them the idea to pursue competition can facilitate them to achieve higher goals and better accomplishment compare to their peers, I believe that being a successful cooperator is a more meaningful skill for the young people who would like to pursue the leadership in the government.

First, the government of a country needs to function as a holistic organism, which requires the close cooperation between its departments, officials and branches that responsible for each functional unit, such as economic, education and health. For instance, if a young individual would like to become the leader of the decision-making staff of the government's health care plan, he or she will highly likely to face the financial challenge, so to speak, tight collaboration with the economic department is necessary. In this case, it is the sense and ability of cooperation that a future leader of the government needs most instead of competition within the government.

Second, when the governments of countries are on the stage of world diplomacy, it is more important for them to cooperate with each other to improve the international connections to develop themselves rather than compete against each other. As the globalization becoming an inevitable trend on this planet, working independently and solitarily has turned to be a dead end for any country in the world. A future government needs to be capable of cannibalizing all the resource from other countries or international organizations such as WTO or IMF, by showing its dedication to cooperate openly and willingly. In this situation, the young generations who are turning to the next generation of the government should instill the sense of how to perform cooperation soundly as soon as possible, and as the top priority.

Finally, though it can be argued that a strong sense of competition can be beneficial for a young individual who is dedicated to a career in the government to achieve higher goals such as work ones way to an Ivy league university or obtain the degree with a distinction, which will essentially help them to gain a good-looking resume and potentially work as a stepstone to the future leadership. However, overly emphasizing the sense of competition could lead to advertent effects, such as ignoring other more important qualities that are necessary on the road to future government leadership, like a sense of cooperation.

In a nutshell, while it cannot be denied that learning the ability of competition could be salutary for young people, it is more important for them to be instilled the sense of cooperation when preparing them to be future leader of the government.