In surveys Mason City residents rank water sports (swimming, boating and fishing) among their favorite recreational activities. The Mason River flowing through the city is rarely used for these pursuits, however, and the city park department devotes little of its budget to maintaining riverside recreational facilities. For years there have been complaints from residents about the quality of the river’s water and the river’s smell. In response, the state has recently announced plans to clean up Mason River. Use of the river for water sports is therefore sure to increase. The city government should for that reason devote more money in this year’s budget to riverside recreational facilities.

In given memo author describes about most popular recreational facilities in a particular city and provides his opinion about why the mason river is not being used by people for those activities.He thinks the reason behind that is the cleanliness of that river and if government invests some amount in maintainance of that river would definitely help in increased use of river for recreational activities

author states that the residents are complaining about the river's smell and cleanliness.Here an author is somehow misguiding us hinting that these people are those who are up voting sports activities as popular recreational facilities but these can be the people residents of mason city who are living near mason river and are facing health issues or not feeling comfortable.This is not being taken into consideration but directly related to less use of mason river.

there are some questions which author must take into consideration that there can be some safety issues because of which people are showing unwillingness towards the use of mason river for sportsactivities.For performing sports activities like boating,swimming or fishing we need to have safety guards like life jacket,tube etc.Because of unavailability of such things people might be reluctant to the mason river.Nowadays there are many clubs who are providing these sports activities along with these

safety guards and also there is always a safety instructor who keeps an eye on people and taking care of them.So because of safety concerns also people might feel insecure to use mason river for recreational facilities.Government must not ignore the problems which might occur if there is increase in use of mason river which can be water pollution

So to finally conclude the reasons for the fact that mason river is hardly being used by people for recreational facilities can be safety issues,pollution,more facilities etc.