Claim: Governments must ensure that their major cities receive the financial support they need in order to thrive.

Reason: It is primarily in cities that a nation's cultural traditions are preserved and generated.

it is being claimed that government should provide necessary financial support to major cities to make them able to progress and continue to do so.it is stated that the reason for this is these major cities are those where nation's cultural traditions are being preserved and generated.this reason can be interpreted because nation's reputation is majorly dependent upon such major cities.

I mostly disagree with the reason given because major cities are those where major businesses are running like in India cities like Bangalore,Pune,Chennai etc are popular for large number of it companies and because of this their contribution in nation's progress is major.Not only it companies but there are many different textile,petroleum etc industries which are responsible for nation's progress.To maintain nation's GDP it is required that these businesses must run smoothly or face less loss.it does not matter whether that city follows or maintains cultural traditions.So to do good progress in respective industries

government is ought to provide financial support to them.

The claim also does not justify itself as it suggests that for a particular city to make progress only financial support is enough which is very partial claim as for a particular city to make progress only financial support is not enough though it is more important but legal support is also required.Sometimes it is necessary for a business to lessen the restrictions regarding laws to enable that business

to make progress without any hurdles and sometimes it can be needed to make some strict laws to protect the businesses.Government can provide support in different forms like providing electricity,required things at lower cost,transportation etc.

Finally,there are some businesses which are running in small cities but are contributing majorly towards our nation's progress.So the claim also fails to include those cities.Small cities like Bhopal,Kanpur etc are very important very different businesses which are important part of our country.