In surveys Mason City residents rank water sports (swimming, boating, and fishing) among their favorite recreational activities. The Mason River flowing through the city is rarely used for these pursuits, however, and the city park department devotes little of its budget to maintaining riverside recreational facilities. For years there have been complaints from residents about the quality of the river's water and the river's smell. In response, the state has recently announced plans to clean up Mason River. Use of the river for water sports is, therefore, sure to increase. The city government should for that reason devote more money in this year's budget to riverside recreational facilities.

To meet the requirement of the public utilization of riverside recreational facilities in Mason City, the government should devote more money in this year's budget to these facilities by the banks of Mason River. This is a good reason in the modern pursuit of high quality life, but carefully considering the evidences offered, it is not enough to persuade the city government to make such a decision of financial allotment, because a in-depth and comprehensive analysis for this suggestion is needed rather than a simple, rough prediction based on the unreliable data and the according assumptions filled with holes.

Among the data, Mason City residents enjoy swimming, boating, and fishing among their favorite recreational activities, and if these recreational facilities were maintained or constructed, they would be fully used by Mason City residents. First of all, in a survey, many key parameters related to the goal of an investigation should be included, such as recreational activities, the spent time, the sample size, etc., instead of just three water sports like swimming, boating, and fishing, to make it objective, real, reliable. Second, Given the Mason River has long been rarely using for these pursuits, if constructed, would these facilities be sure to be utilized? There is no sufficient reason to confirm the transformation of Mason City residents' enthusiasm. For this reason, an impartial, thorough survey from public institution is necessary for Mason governmental reference to decide whether money allocation for riverside recreational facilities is rational or not.

About the above-mentioned rare use of recreational facilities alongside the Mason River, one reason is that residents' complaints about the quality of the river's water and its smell for years. It is not sure if these complaints are either an excuse or a fact from a wide range of the residents or several individuals. Provided this question indeed exists, the authorities should find out the origin of the poor water quality and its smell, combined with the research and analysis of geologists, hydrologist, environmentalist, far from relying on residents' complaints. And according to the field study of experts in different fields, concrete measures should be designed and implemented to address the water quality and the smell of Mason River. Of course, if the water of Mason River is good, there is no necessity to waste the governmental money to clean it up.

Most importantly, both the construction of recreational facilities and the clean-up of Mason River may spend huge amounts of money. Considering the limitation of governmental finance, specific implementation of the aforementioned projects may be impeded. Even in the highly-developed cities, the governments are still faced with the dilemma of financial allocation, since programs like health, medicine, education are more eager for money than recreation. Therefore, Mason government may subcontract these projects to private enterprises, who are self-responsible for profit and loss, to relieve the strain of its limited budget, which in turn can be allotted for badly-needed projects. Make sure whether government has enough finance to afford such projects and the necessity of capital allocation.

To create high-quality living environment, the government has the responsibility to improve the present situation of Mason River and care about the residents' life conditions by funding the projects correlated to civil engineering. Nevertheless, confronted with the suggestion full of loopholes, the government should examine it closely over and over again on the ground of scientific, objective, rational appraisal and analysis.