In surveys Mason City residents rank water sports (swimming, boating, and fishing) among their favorite recreational activities. The Mason River flowing through the city is rarely used for these pursuits, however, and the city park department devotes little of its budget to maintaining riverside recreational facilities. For years there have been complaints from residents about the quality of the river's water and the river's smell. In response, the state has recently announced plans to clean up Mason River. Use of the river for water sports is, therefore, sure to increase. The city government should for that reason devote more money in this year's budget to riverside recreational facilities.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

This excerpt argues that the city park department should provide more of its budget to develop water sports activities alongside the Mason River. The basis for this argument is provided by responses of Mason City residents to surveys about their preferred recreational activities. Results of these surveys seem to reveal than water sports are among the favorites in this regard. State plans to clean the Mason River have been already announced, and, thus, the writer claims that people would be more likely to use the river for water sports.

This argument is largely based on the assumption that the fact respondents ranked water sports among their favorite hobbies is the same as being likely to actively practice water sports on a frequent basis. If most of the respondents who ranked water sports higher are actually people who practice water sports or are willing to take them up as a hobby, then the market for water sports in Mason River is large enough to justify an investment. However, as little information about these surveys is provided, one could easily argue that, for example, a respondent could rank swimming higher than other activities because he likes to watch swimming races, but might not be or interested in being actively involved with it. If the aforementioned assumption does not hold true, this would mean that the number of Mason City residents willing to practice water sports is much smaller than the one reflected on these surveys.

The writer also assumes that Mason City residents who would like to be actively involved with water sports, would be interested in practicing them in Mason River. This might not be true for people living a long way from the Mason River, or people who have been already practicing water sports elsewhere and are not interested in moving their activities to the river. Even if the state cleans up the river, the number of people who would participate in these activities might not be as large as the surveys suggest.

This is not to suggest that the city park department should not devote a larger share of its budget to utilizing the Mason River for recreational activities. If the aforementioned assumptions hold true, then such an investment could be truly beneficial for the local community. However, the validity of these statements should be carefully examined before moving on with such actions.