As people rely more and more on technology to solve problems, the ability of humans to think for themselves will surely deteriorate.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

What is not always obvious in discussions of this issue, is that man has been relying on technological solutions to their problems from the very beginning of their existence. Since he used tools and applied methods to hunt, farm or defend himself, technology was always employed to assist him in addressing his needs. It is just the nature of the problems that technology solves, that has changed today.

And perhaps the answer to this question might be clearer when one thinks of what type of problems technology is used to solve today. Even with advanced artificial intelligence solutions, machines are used to solve problems that are completely structured or call for an objective solution, which is actually a limitation of the fact that their thinking processes must be designed and defined in detail by a human. Unstructured problems that involve more complex ways of thinking are still left to humans to solve.

It could also be argued that, even if technology is used to solve many of the problems humans were formerly forced to solve themselves, new problems and new challenges have emerged as a consequence. Technical systems are not always failsafe or dependable. They require constant monitoring, maintenance and development, which they might be even more challenging than the problems the system is used to solve.

On the other hand, it might be true that people would probably be unable to cope with problems formerly solved by their ancestors but solved now with the help of technology. For example, people in business and management are nowadays using decision-making software to help them analyze a business problem and evaluate alternative solutions. Without this software, managers might not be able to solve these problems themselves just as effectively. However, this might be related not to the problem itself but the context in which a solution is needed. Managers would be able to make decisions for themselves a decade ago, but the time and risk constraints of these decisions were different.

To sum up, it is not true that nowadays technology provides a solution to every problem. Many problems are solved with help of technology, but new problems and challenges, probably even more demanding mentally, have emerged for man to solve for himself.