Some people claim that a nation's government should preserve its wilderness areas in their natural state. Others argue that these areas should be developed for potential economic gain.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

Planet Earth is becoming smaller every year. As the human population grows exponentially in size and the planet’s resources are already depleted, it is estimated that, by 2050, all of the planet’s surface will be covered with either large cities or industrial facilities. As the need for geographical space and resources is becoming increasingly critical, some people argue that we should stop protecting wilderness areas and should utilize them for economic growth. Assuredly, these areas contain a lot of natural resources and could be exploited for financial purposes. However, if wilderness areas are not preserved, there is an appreciable risk for serious implications, such as the extinction of inhabitant species and the unbalancing of the local ecosystems. Thus, we should preserve wilderness areas in their natural state, and refrain from altering them for financial profit.

What many people are forgetting when proposing plans to develop wilderness areas is that these areas are the natural habitats of many species. Some plants or animals can only survive in certain areas of the world, which means one could not simply move them somewhere else in order to develop their home environment. There are also some species that cannot survive if they are brought in contact with other species, for different reasons, such as an underdeveloped immune system. If we do not protect such areas, we risk putting such species in danger of extinction. For example, the “kri-kri” goat is a rare species of goat that can only be found on the island of Crete, in Greece. Dairy products from its milk are regarded as especially nutritious, and the local area attracts thousands of visitors every summer, that come to observe its natural environment. The government of Crete currently has the “kri-kri” species under protection by preserving its natural habitat and posing strict limitation on entrance to the area. If this area was not properly protected, it is likely that the species would not be able to survive, as has happened with other Eastern Mediterranean regions “kri-kri” goats used to be found. Therefore, it is necessary to preserve wilderness areas in their original state, in order to protect the animals and plants that inhabit them.

One should also have in mind that wilderness areas are often necessary for providing balance to the ecosystem of a larger area. They can provide neighboring cities with considerable amounts of oxygen, or distribute special minerals and nutritional substances to nearby areas, facilitating farming. The existence of these wilderness areas proves critical for the survival of those living around them. If we were to subject these areas to major alterations, we would probably rid ourselves of their many benefits. An example that is often brought into discussions of the topic is the case of Hong Kong. The capital city of Hong Kong is well known for its low air quality, to the point that its citizens purchase bottled oxygen in order to ensure proper breathing. Among the factors that have contributed to this situation is the absence of any wilderness areas around the city. The minimal vegetation inside the city is not enough to cover the population’s needs for oxygen. Hong Kong is the example of a government that did not protect its wilderness areas in favor of economic gain, but in this way disturbed the balance of the local ecosystem.

Despite some strong reasons behind the preservation of wilderness areas, there are some who argue that the exploitation of these areas could create opportunities for financial gain. According to them, one could utilize their natural resources for farming or forestry products, or even use their geographical space to build factories. However, there are other ways that these areas already contribute to economic growth, without being subjected to substantial alterations. For example, many wilderness areas are utilized as natural parks and attract visitors who want to see rare species in their natural habitats. Furthermore, preserved wilderness areas are crucial to Biology or Chemistry researchers who often need to observe or replicate an environment without accounting for human-introduced factors. Only in this way are advancements in fields, such as Medicine, possible, and the preservation of these areas indirectly contributes to such developments.

All in all, there are different views on whether wilderness areas should be preserved in their natural state. While many propose that wilderness areas should be developed for financial profit, it is also possible to create value from such without altering them. Conversely, it is necessary that we preserve these areas, if we are to protect the plants and animals that inhabit them and the balance of the larger ecosystem they are part of.