In surveys Mason City residents rank water sports (swimming, boating and fishing) among their favorite recreational activities. The Mason River flowing through the city is rarely used for these pursuits, however, and the city park department devotes little of its budget to maintaining riverside recreational facilities. For years there have been complaints from residents about the quality of the river's water and the river's smell. In response, the state has recently announced plans to clean up Mason River. Use of the river for water sports is therefore sure to increase. The city government should for that reason devote more money in this year's budget to riverside recreational facilities.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on the assumptions and what the implications are if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The results of surveys addressed to Mason City residents indicate that water sports are one of most famous recreational activities in the area. Nevertheless, the Mason River crossing the city is not often used for these purposes. It is polluted and smelly. It is stated that government ought to devote more money in order to clean up the river and maintain the riverside recreational facilities. However, it is not mentioned how the use of these facilities will increase the resources and be an enticing project for the government. It is easy to understand why residents request a cleaner river but the given argument is not enough to justify an increased funding by the government.

First of all, it is stated that people from Mason City love water sports but this does not necessarily imply that they wish to exercise water sports in the river. It is normal for them to desire a clean river without annoying smell because a clean and healthy environment is desirable for everyone but it is unknown if they would like fishing, swimming or boating in it. The conclusion of the author that after cleaning process the use of the river for water sports will increase is arbitrary. More specific questions should be involved in the survey’s questionnaire such as if the residents of Mason City would love exercising the water sports in the river if it is clean. Moreover, people who participated in the survey should be from all the city’s suburbs and not just from those who live close to riversides and the number of the participant should be enough big. So the results will be more cogent and representative. However, the author is not precise and does not cite enough reliable data.

Furthermore, the author does not provide enough information and reasons for the government to increase the funding for maintaining riverside recreational facilities. It should be referred how these facilities will be profitable and increase the state resources. Thus a potential state financing would be beneficial for both residents and government. For example, the exploitation of these facilities can have enough satisfying earnings, so the state will have financial profit.

Finally, it should be emphasized that a clean and beautiful river would make the city more attractive for visitors. Tourism can contribute to an economic development for the area and gradually offer a more advanced and qualified life for residents. Nevertheless, the author is not enough persuasive with his arguments to achieve a financing from the government side.