Life today is easier and more comfortable than it was when your grandparents were children.

Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

The significant progress of humanity in sciences and technology has improved our living standards. There is no doubt that life today is much easier and more comfortable than it was in past when our grandparents were children. The purpose of this essay is to discuss the ways by which life became more comfortable and advanced than the past.

First of all, the revolution and remarkable progress in the scientific field have contributed to more prosperous life conditions. Nowadays, medicine is able to combat the diseases which used to be incurable in the past but now they are just considered routine cases. Also, pills are available to the majority of the population for medical purposes. Life expectancy has increased considerably and the living conditions are much better.

Moreover, technological advances have facilitated our life in multiple ways. Inventions such as smart telephones and internet have improved the way of communication and interaction between people by eliminating barriers based on distance and time. Nowadays we can contact our friends or family fast and directly. The old generation had to compromise with more conservative ways of communication, such as a stable phone at the neighborhood’s market or by posting. Also, the internet provides to people a huge amount of information and knowledge that were not available in the past. In other words, education has become accessible by more people.

Additionally, the generation of our grandparents when they were children had fewer ways of entertainment. Today there is a big variety of ways that someone can spend his free time for his self-enjoyment in contrast with old generations that people were more restricted. For instance, cinema and theatre were not easily accessible in the past either because there were only in big urban areas or because there were pricy and people could not afford them.

To sum up, taking into account the things have been spoken above it could be concluded that the people today have the advantage of much more comfortable and prosperous life than the previous generations thanks to scientific and technological progress.