Evaluate an Argument and Evidence

Milk and dairy products are rich in vitamin D and calcium – substances essential for building and maintaining bones. Many people therefore say that a diet rich in dairy products can help prevent osteoporosis, a disease that is linked to both environmental and genetic factors and that causes the bones to weaken significantly with age. But a long-term study of a large number of people found that those who consistently consumed dairy products throughout the years of the study have a higher rate of bone fractures than any other participants in the study. Since bone fractures are symptomatic of osteoporosis, this study result shows that a diet rich in dairy products may actually increase, rather than decrease, the risk of osteoporosis.

In the above text, it is mentioned that dairy products are rich resources of vitamin D and calcium that are required for healthy bones building and maintenance. So many people have related the strong bones and prevention of osteoporosis, a disease associated with both genetic and environmental factors, with the high consumption of dairy products. However the results of the mentioned above study claim that people who follow a diet rich in dairy products are more vulnerable to osteoporosis because these participants had more bone fractures than those who did not consume. Nevertheless, the argument stated above is not enough cogent and has many flows.

First of all, the study carried out even if it was long-term and included a satisfying number of participants it was one-sided. Osteoporosis is a disease linked to both environmental and genetic factors and does not depends only on diet. Genetic factors should also be examined. It is probable that some mutations cause genetic malfunction and led to weak bones creation. So even if the participants used to consume a high amount of dairy product their genetic mechanisms preventing the normal absorbance of the vitamin D and calcium, necessaire substance for healthy bones. Thus it seems inevitable that a research in a genetic level should be carried out. However, such a case is not examined and all date is construed based exclusively on diet.

Furthermore, the daily habits of participants should also be mentioned and examined. The consumption of other products might interfere with the absorbance of calcium and vitamin D. Habits such as smoking, alcohol, exercise should also be included in the survey and their positive or negative contribution to bone fracture rate should be determined. On contrary, the conclusion of this survey based on arbitrary assumptions and cannot be considered enough persuasive and reliable.