Milk and dairy products are rich in vitamin D and calcium – substances essential for building and maintaining bones. Many people, therefore, say that a diet rich in dairy products can help prevent osteoporosis, a disease that is linked to both environmental and genetic factors and that causes the bones to weaken significantly with age. But a long-term study of a large number of people found that those who consistently consumed dairy products throughout the years of the study have a higher rate of bone fractures than any other participants in the study. Since bone fractures are symptomatic of osteoporosis, this study result shows that a diet rich in dairy products may actually increase, rather than decrease, the risk of osteoporosis.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The given arugument is flawed for numerous reasons. Primarily, the argument assumes the veracity of the study conducted is high, but doesn't give evidence to backup this claim. Moreover, the correlation of bone fractures to osteoporosis and its link to diary product has no proof. Hence, The truth of the argument is limited.

First, the argument fails to justify the under what conditions the study was conducted. There is possibility that the people studied were suffering from brittle bones due to genetic reasons. Additionally, they could be suffering from lactose intolerance. Or they were old people whose bones were weak due to wear and tear, which is common among aged people. More significantly, the "long term" is used in a vague manner. Was it 5 years, 10 years or did it just run in months? The long term used is pretty subjective and depends on the persons who conducted the study. Moreover, there is no data about the qualifications of the people and the method in which the study was done. Doctors, dietician, journalists or anyone could have conducted it. Moreover, there is no data about how the findings were reached. Data and evidences about these points, will throw more light on the validity of the argument.

Further, another unjustified assumption is the correlation between bone fractures to osteoporosis and consumption of diary products. There is no medical proof that bone fractures are caused by insufficient intake of diary products. It is also possible that the fractured person had zero dairy intake and had still fractured his foot. It cannot be ruled out that the fracture could have been caused by freak accident, like slipping in a bathroom. Or it is quite possible that osteoporosis can be caused due to lesser intake of other eatables like fruits and vegetables. It also does not comment on the quality of the dairy products consumed. A adulterated product can cause more harm. A more detailed analysis examining the correlation between fractures and osteoporosis and consumption of diar products would be helpful in judging the validity of the argument.

The study also claims that osteoporosis causes bones to weaken with age, thereby contradicting the prediction that a diet rich in dairy products may actually increase, rather than decrease, the risk of osteoporosis. It is quite possible that osteoporosis can be caused due to aging, and had no relation with consuming diary products in the first place.

In conclusion, the argument fails to answer a number of questions and hence I do not agree with the argument.