The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand our coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The given argument states that the ctime devoted to weather and local news should be increased to its former levels to avoid losing any advertising revenues. The argument is flawed for a number of reasons as it does not not comment on the advertising sources, viewership numbers. Though, the argument does sound convincing at the first look, careful analysis lead to lack of evidence presented to support the claim. Hence the truth of the argument is limited.

First, the argument fails to talk about the change in viewership statistics. It merely states that most of complaints from viewers were related to the coverage of weather and local news. It doesn't talk if any new viewers started watching the channel. It can be possible that the number of viewers increased manifold . Moreover, since the coverage was reduced only for the late night period, it is insufficient to come to a solid conclusion. What if the coverage of weather and local news was increased during the day time and national news decreased during the same? There is also another possibility that the overall number of complaints could have decreased but the number of complaints relating to local news and weather could have stayed the same, increasing the fraction of complaints that belong to the weather and local news. This could mean a positve rather than a negative effect. Data ad atatictics about viewrship, coverage of news across categories, complaints specific to categories and their factions will throw more light and help reach a solid decision.

Further, the argument states that local businesses have canceled advertising contracts. It does not comment about the advertising from other sources like national businesses, or even international businesses. The national and international ones could have increased, thereby compensating for the loss from local businesses. Or, the national and international advertising revenues could have exceeded the local business advertising revenue by a huge amount since the coverage of national news has increased in late night. Moreover, the author does not talk about the change in time allocated to advertising duration or athe cost associated to play the advertisement. The channel could have reduced the time for advertisements and also increased the cost to air advertisements, making it likely possible that the local businesses found it too expensive and infeasible to air their ads. Hence they could have cancelled it. The author should consider quoting numbers and statstics about the above the share of revenues from different advertising sources, the changes in reveues and also the cost of airing the advertisements. This will strengthen or weaken the conclusion. Else, the conclusion keeps the reader in dark.

Finally, the argument also fails to throw light on the correalation between advertising revenues and the time alotted to different news items. is it positive or negative correlation? It could even be both for individual cases. Data about these could help warrant the argument.

In a nutshell, the argument fails to present the numbers, data, statistics and comparision of all the issues like viewership, advertising revenues, etc that are stated above and all these challenge the validity of the argument . Thus, the veracity of the argument is limited