The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

The give issue states that to groom the youth of today for leadership roles should be via cooperation and not by competition. I do not fully agree to the issue as it is subjective in nature, though I lean towards cooperation, at a macro level.

First of all, the youth of today come from all diverse backgrounds-- educated and uneducated, rich and poor, from urban and rural areas. To groom them to potential leaders, this divide should first be bridged so that all of them start with the same platform. Cooperation between the youth is an important aspect of this. Each person should learn, unlearn and relearn from others. They should share their life, listen to other's lives and look at the leadership from other's point of view also. Moreover, in a fast paced world today, people from every nook and corner of the world. Hence, leader should be accomodative to all cultures, considerate to all his subordinates and be tolerant to people from all diverse backgrounds. Thus, a sense of cooperation is needed to be instilled before people become leaders,in the early stages of their career(upto 30 years), be it in any field.

Second, leadership position depends on the organisation-is it a government, or a coporate company or a hospital. Additionally, it also depends on the role the person will be taking- a CEO, a CFO, a CTO, a manager,etc. Depending on these two, the youth should be trained to be cooperative or competitive.The levels of cooperation and competition are also dictated by the types of companies and the roles the person heads. For example, a CEO at an investment bank needs to be competitive to close a deal but also be cooperative to maintain relations with other leaders and clients in the future. The tradeoff between cooperation and competition is also subjective to the given scenario. The CEO ot the manager of a company need to be competitive when competing against lot of companies for a billion dollar contract for his company. On the other hand, the same leader has to be more cooperative with other leades in tackling cyber crimes, fraud, etc which involve sharing of resources, personal and others. Hence, the potential leaders have to groomed to adapt to various levels of coopertion and competition.

Third, a cooperative sense is also good for the society at large. Elon Musk, founder of SpaceX and Hyperloop shunned competitiveness and is working for the good of the society. His hyperloop, aims to make high speed transport accessible to all the economical seactions of the societ across the world. He also setup a electic power plant in Australia, to provide power to a lot of people. Bill Gates is a also philanthropist, a leader and doing good for humanity.

In a nutshell, I would say that leaders should be groomed to be cooperative at a macro level at the early stages, but at individual levels, it is subjective to the role, the organisation and the scnario the leader is facing. Hence, potential leaders should be groomed to adapt to different scenarios.