A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

The given issue states that if all the students should study the same national curriculum until they enter college. This issue has been bothering education planners since decades. Since schools(pre college) play a vital role in the deveopment of a student's life and implementing different school curriculms in difficult for a country like India, I agree to the issue as long as the curriculum has all the basic subjects that need to be studied by a student.

First, a student in school has no idea what he/she will be interested in durin g their schooldays. Lot of career choices with little knowledge of each of them can lead the students to take wrong decisions. Hence, it is required that a student study all the basic subjects that will help him choose a proper career that will be suitable for him. By the time the student finishes grade 12, he will have a clear idea of where his interests lie and can choose his subjects of interest in college. Moreover, the student has to be moulded into a well rounded personality, which places a greater responsibility on the pre-college education. A student whose interests lie in science and research, will still have to pay tax and know about the finance and economics, at least the basics. Or a arts student who has a passion for law still needs to know basic math and calculations to manage day to day transactions. A person pursuing his Ph.D in any field will still need to know basic language skills, words to present his thesis in a effective manner. Hence the national pre college curriculum should cater to all these requirements.

Further, implementing a uniform national curriculum has the ease of implementation. If different students study different subjects, the volume of subjects in the curriculum will be too much and catering to all the students will be difficult. In a country like India, with a population of 1.32 billion, which has a literacy rate of 75%, it will be infeasible to implement specialised curriculum. Moreover, the target to achieve 100% literacy rate will have more importance over specialised school curriculum. Additionally, studying in a unfiorm curriculum will place all students on an equal plate with no discrimination when they enter college. Colleges can , in fact, cater to the customised needs of students.

Finally, one can argue that the student is wasting time and resources in studying subjects that he will not pursue in his career, and will lose focus if the nation follows a uniform national curriculum in school. This is definitely true, but as stated, the goal of the school education should be the development of an all rounded personality that will make the student independent enough to take wise career decisions on his own. This has extra advantage, that will help the student to discover where his exact passion lies if he studies all the subjects. Sacchin Tendulkar, the famous Indian cricketer is an exaple of this. He chose cricket as he was good at it and bad at math. What would have happened if he was exposed only to math? India would have missed a sports legend.

Hence, I do support the issue that a nation has to follow a uniform national pre college curriculum provided that all the students learn basic subjects that will turn them to independent, well rounded personalities and choose where their real passion lies before they start college and contribute to the society in a solid way.