Collectors prize the ancient life-size clay statues of human figures made on
Kali Island but have long wondered how Kalinese artists were able to depict
bodies with such realistic precision. Since archaeologists have recently
discovered molds of human heads and hands on Kali, we can now conclude that
the ancient Kalinese artists used molds of actual bodies, not sculpting tools and
techniques, to create these statues. This discovery explains why Kalinese
miniature statues were abstract and entirely different in style: molds could be
used only for life-size sculptures. It also explains why few ancient Kalinese
sculpting tools have been found. In light of this discovery, collectors predict
that the life-size sculptures will decrease in value while the miniatures increase
in value.
Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be
answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which
it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions
would help to evaluate the prediction.
For this situation, the word “beauty” in the common saying “beauty is in the
eye of the beholder” could be replaced with “value.” Who the potential buyer is
of an ancient Kalinese sculpture will determine the value of the piece. To state
that life-size statues will be worth less due to the way in which they were made
is a presumptuous statement. The price of a piece of art has always depended on
how much the buyer is willing to spend. More work must also be done to
confirm the use of molds in ancient times.
First, the issue of molds must be addressed. Just because the ancient Kalinese
artists used molds, does that make their art less valuable? Since we are not
given a time period, it is possible that the concept of molds, their use, and how
to make them had not been developed yet. If this is the case, then one could
argue that the life-size statues from molds are more valuable than the ones
made using sculpting tools. Molds could have been invented and implemented
by Kalinese artists first. A creation using a tool that had never been seen before
would be very valuable indeed.
Second, how can we be sure that the life-size sculptures will decrease in
value? They are still ancient art and will be valued by modern society. While
some experts in the field of ancient art may look down upon the use of molds,
are they the main market? Some curators may have much knowledge in a field
of study, but that does not mean they have the financial ability to purchase
pieces. A wealthy individual may not have a great affinity for art, but they may
desire to fill their home with seemingly important and expensive things. In that
case, one would think that a larger piece would be more valuable to such a
buyer than a smaller piece. The larger piece will declare its importance, while
the smaller piece’s value would most likely only be known by an art enthusiast.
Another large market for ancient art would have to be museums. Museums are
storehouses of all kinds of history and work to educate the public. Such an
institution would be very unlikely to frown upon the life-size work just because
it was made from a mold; a museum would most likely desire to obtain both
life-size and miniature sculptures for its exhibit of ancient Kalinese art.
Third,
while the statement says they found molds, they cannot definitively say that
molds were used to make all or even any life-size statues. It merely says molds
have been found. Further research could provide a use for the molds that has not
been seen before. If this was the case, life-size statues may have been
previously sold for less their worth.
This statement could have been further strengthened by addressing the above
issues as well as obtaining a poll from the target market as well as the everyday
individual. Such a poll would yield a better idea of whether or not the moldformed,
life-size sculptures or sculpted miniatures would have more value in
the market at the present time.
In summation, at present there are still too many unknown variables to be
able to say with conviction which work of art would be more valuable. The use
of molds, the effect that molds have upon the value of art, and the reaction of
the market are all serious considerations that must be determined before
conclusions can be drawn. What can be said is that regardless of the technique
used, ancient Kalinese art has great value to many.