Milk and dairy products are rich in vitamin D and calcium – substances essential for building and maintaining bones. Many people, therefore, say that a diet rich in dairy products can help prevent osteoporosis, a disease that is linked to both environmental and genetic factors and that causes the bones to weaken significantly with age. But a long-term study of a large number of people found that those who consistently consumed dairy products throughout the years of the study have a higher rate of bone fractures than any other participants in the study. Since bone fractures are symptomatic of osteoporosis, this study result shows that a diet rich in dairy products may actually increase, rather than decrease, the risk of osteoporosis.

The author concludes that dairy products might increase the risk of osteoporosis. He claims that because the results of one long-term study with a large number of participants indicated that from all participants those who consumed many dairy products had more bone fractures than any others. Nevertheless, the conclusion stated above seems to have many flows and overgeneralizations.

First of all, the mentioned study even if it was long-term and with a large number of participants it was one-sided. As it mentioned, osteoporosis is a disease linked to environmental and genetic factors. However, only the dairy products consumption influence was examined. This might lead to faulty evaluations because most probably many different factors were involved and contributed to the results. The study should not generalize and arbitrarily assume that dairy products are the only factor causing the bone fractures.

Furthermore, the study should also check genetic factors involved and personal habits for each participant. The genetic map of participants should be analyzed so probable mutations or inheritance reasons that lead to body malfunction would be revealed. For example, it could be possible a mutation to prevent the normal absorbance of the vitamin D and calcium. Also, the daily habits of participants should be taken into account. Factors such as consumption of alcohol, smoking, and daily exercise play an important role and can affect positive or negative the bones. However, these factors are overlooked and the whole study focuses only on dairy products consumptions and its potential influence.

Additionally, the researchers should consider environmental factors that might affect bone density and health status. For example, it should be mentioned and remarked the climate that the participants used to live. Places with high humidity and many rainfalls cause damage to bones and people might be more vulnerable to bone diseases such as osteoporosis. Yet, this reason is not mentioned.

To sum up, the conclusion based on study results has many flows. The study should include the examination of more factors such as genetics, environment and personal habits and overgeneralizations and one-sided assumptions should be avoided. Thus more cogent and reliable results would be presented.