In surveys, Mason City residents rank water sports (swimming, boating, and fishing) among their favorite recreational activities. The Mason River flowing through the city is rarely used for these pursuits, however, and the city park department devotes little of its budget to maintaining riverside recreational facilities. For years there have been complaints from residents about the quality of the river's water and the river's smell. In response, the state has recently announced plans to clean up Mason River. Use of the river for water sports is therefore sure to increase. The city government should for that reason devote more money in this year's budget to riverside recreational facilities.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on the assumptions and what the implications are if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The author concludes that the cleaning up of river announced by the government will increase the use of the river for water sports and for this reason the government should increase the funding for the maintenance of riverside recreational activities. Nevertheless, the arguments of the author have many flows depending only on assumptions and extra factors should be examined.

First of all, it is not mentioned how many people were asked in the survey and if the number is representative. A large number of people should be asked and it is important these people to live in different parts of the city and not only close to river-side. Also in the above text, the author stated that there were complaints from residents but the actual number of them is not specified. So it is not clear if many people were upset with the smelly and polluted river or just a small portion of them.

Moreover, according to the survey water sports is one of the most favorite activities for residents of Manson City but it is not clarified if the people would wish to exercise fishing, swimming, and boating in the river. It is easy to understand why people would like a clean river since a clean and healthy environment is desirable for everyone but this does not implicate necessarily that they want to use the river for the recreational activities. More specific questions should be included in the survey’s questionnaire in order to be clear if the residents desire to use the river for water sports. So the author’s assumption that the use of the river for water sports activities will increase is arbitrary.

Additionally, the author’s argument is weak and not enough to encourage the state to increase the budget for riverside facilities. He should specify and indicate how these facilities would be an enticing project for state and how their use would increase government resources. However, author overlooked these explanations and failed to motivate enough the government.

Finally, it should be mentioned by the author that a beautiful and clean river would make the city to look more attractive for visitors. Tourism would definitely contribute to economic development of the area and eventually offer a more advanced and comfortable life to residents. Therefore, the state would have sufficient reasons to increase financing

To sum up, it is obvious that the author’s conclusion is weak, full of flows and relies only on assumptions. Evidence should be analyzed more carefully, a more reliable and precise survey should be carried out and a strong and enough cogent argument should be presented to convince the government to increase funding.