Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Progress is always good. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

The progress of humanity in scientific and technological fields is remarkable and has improved by multiple ways our life by eliminating barriers and limits that used to make human life harsh. However, I do think that progress is not always good if it is accompanied by prudence and ethical principles. In this essay, some reasons supporting that progress is not always good will be discussed.

To begin with, meanwhile in the developed countries the human life is enough prosperous characterized by socio-political stability, there are many areas of the world that are still suffering from famine, political repressions, and civil wars. This phenomenon might have its roots that the developed countries where progress took place take profit by using the less powerful ones. The wealth and advanced life standards provided by human progress are not equally distributed among the world. On contrary, the strong ones become blind and arrogant due to the power offered by the progress occurred in their country. It could be said that the human progress resulted in the creation of two worlds, one of the powerful countries and the other of the weak ones.

Furthermore, even if progress is remarked in sciences and technology humans are constantly losing their ‘’humanity’’. Ethical rules are considered to be modest and out of date and people are getting adjusted to a life without morality and ethics usually promoted through technological advances such as advertisements in television or web. Interpersonal relationships have been eroded and feeling of love for fellow-men is substituted by selfishness and egoism. The stressful daily routine might be the main cause of this situation because in the framework of the progressed society individuals have daily to deal with a plenty of issues. Thus, there is not free time and space to care for others. The educational system may contribute to the creations of emotion-free people without a high sense of moral and ethical rules and just focusing on providing sterile knowledge in order to keep up with the progress of technology and sciences.

To sum up, taking into account all things have been spoken above it could be concluded that even if the human race has done a significant progress regarding the world of matter people failed to be better humans.