Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

In twenty years there will be fewer cars in use than there are today

Transportation of people has become more comfortable, faster and more flexible after cars started to be used. Numbers of car users have increased dramatically during the last decades. However, a series of reasons might lead to a reduction of cars in use in twenty years. Some of the most important reasons supporting this claim will be discussed below.

First of all, it is true that the use of cars has made transportation easier and faster than it was in past. Nevertheless, the massive car use has requested the uncontrollable extraction of fossil fuels such as oil and natural gas. The shortage of these fossil fuels, since there are non-renewable, will probably lead to a considerable price increase. Thus, using a car would require spending more money than now and many people would not be able to afford them.

Moreover, stressful conditions that car drivers have to deal with within a day is another reason. People have to wait for a long time in the traffic lights because of traffic jams and they usually struggle to find a free place for parking. These situations cause an additional discomfort and pressure towards human psychology and might lead to aggressive behaviors between individuals due to loss of their self-control.

Additionally, the use of cars causes a remarkable environmental pollution. A worsening air quality, especially in the big cities, affects negatively the public health. The high temperatures during the summer session combined with high pollution rate create a sultry atmosphere. Also, people who have to cope with chronic diseases such as asthma are more vulnerable and suffer due to these conditions.

To sum up, taking into account all things have been spoken above it could be assumed that a decrease of cars in use is possible to happen due to the contribution of a series of factors. Such a decrease would be accompanied by several benefits providing not only healthier atmosphere but also a more balanced and less pressed human psychology.