In surveys Mason City residents rank water sports (swimming, boating and fishing) among their favorite recreational activities. The Mason River flowing through the city is rarely used for these pursuits, however, and the city park department devotes little of its budget to maintaining riverside recreational facilities. For years there have been complaints from residents about the quality of the river's water and the river's smell. In response, the state has recently announced plans to clean up Mason River. Use of the river for water sports is therefore sure to increase. The city government should for that reason devote more money in this year's budget to riverside recreational facilities.

The argument states that the government should devote more money for riverside recreational facilities so that more people would use the river for water sports. The author came to this conclusion based on two assumptions which are improving the riverside recreational facilities and cleaning up the river would make more people use the river for water sports and the money that the city park department devoted was not enough and more money is needed. This argument is flawed because it is based on unproved assumptions which I will explore in the following essay.

First, the author assumes that people do not use the river for water sports because of the riverside recreational facilities or because of the the quality of the river water. This assumption is not necessarily right and maybe there are other reasons why the people do not use the river for water sports. It is possible that the river size is small and not good for water sports or maybe the people prefer to do water sports in closed places not in the pubic on the river. In this case improving the quality of the river water and the riverside recreational facilities will not make more people use the river.

Second, the argument assumes that the money that the city park department devoted was not enough to improve the riverside recreational facilities. This assumption is not supported by any evidence. maybe that money was enough and no money was needed so devoting more money could be used to create riverside recreational facilities that already was there and no more people would use the river. The author did not give information about how much money they need and if the old money was enough or not.

In order to make the argument stronger the author have to provide more information about why the Mason city residents do not use the river for water sports and how much money is needed to improve the river and how this money will be used.

In conclusion, the argument is flawed because it is based on unproved assumptions which need more information to make stronger. The first assumption is improving the water of the river would make more people use it for water sports. The second is that more money is needed to improve the riverside recreational facilities.