Televison station complaints received due to coverage of weather and local news

In order to attract more viewers and to prevent loss of revenue from advertising, the manager of a television station reports that the time devoted to weather and local news should be restored. The argument sound to be convincing at the first glance, but on close scrutiny seems to be based on unwarranted assumptions.

Firstly, the manager mentioned that more time was allotted to national news rather than weather and local news. However, he did not give any information on the tim i.e. whether it is for 2hours or 20 minutes. Also, he stated that during this complaints were received from their viewers on the weather and local news. He did not provide any data on the number of people who lodges complaints and the reason for which they gave complaints.

Next, he made assumption that the complaints were due to reduced coverage of local and weather news. Howeve it could be the case that the people were not satisfied with the content provided by the station. Maybe the local news covered a scandalous story about the politician whom they admired the most. Therefore, in order to validate this assumption the author should have given data on the reason for the complaints from the people.

Moreover the author stated that local business have terminated their contract because of the regular complaint to the station from the people but the relation between the company and the station might not be in good condition form long back. Also the advertising agency might have found some other television station which has highest number of viewers. Because of the reduced popularity of this station among the audience, the agency have chosen some other company for contract.

Finally,the author made another fallacious assumption that by expanding the coverage time for local and weather news they could get back the viewers. If the reason for the loss of viewers is due to the content provided by the station there is no chance that reverting back to original coverage brings back the lost viewers.

To summarise, the argument would have been more accurate if the author has provided the data on the number of complaints received to the station and the prime reason for the viewers to complain on either local or weather news.