"Ten years ago, as part of a comprehensive urban renewal program, the city of Transopolis adapted for industrial use a large area of severely substandard housing near the freeway.Subsequently, several factories were constructed there, crime rates in the a

Thanks to the comprehensive urban renewal program, the city of Transopolis did successfully revitalize, with its current prosperous industrial factories, low crime rates and benefits of property tax revenues for the entire city. Yet, if the authorities plan to apply same program to the opposite side of the city where residential area declines, several issues are required to consider and tackle first.

To begin with, the timing to implement this comprehensive urban renewal program is not exactly the same criteria compared to ten years ago. It may be true that ten years ago the opposite side of the city was suitable for this renewal program. However, abundant conditions have changed since ten years ago, and the current condition is not ideal for the urban renewal program. To illustrate this point, consider the economy for example. Ten years ago, industrials were prosperous. Thus, it is reasonable that the need for industrial factories for production exceeded its supplied counterparts. Consequently, it is feasible to replace a declining residential areas with the construction of several factories. Then, this area started to thrive as the industrial. Nevertheless, nowadays the industrial is not the main stream, and more and more once prosperous factories become abandoned. Hence, the residential area from the opposite side of the city is not suitable for the program.

Moreover, it is not ignorable that the location to apply the renewal program is significant. The reason why the city of Transoppolis succeeded in the program is mainly because it is near the freeway where transportation is convenient. On the contrary, the opposite site of the city locates remotely from the nearest freeway. As a result, if the opposite site of the city is implemented with the urban renewal program, the doomed future is not unpredictable for its inconvenience of situated far from the freeway.

In conclusion, it is not plausible to apply identical comprehensive urban renewal program to the area where resident rate is declining on the opposite site of the city, for the timing of implementation is not feasible as ten years ago, and for the location where it is far away from the freeway. Thus, if authorities consider taking same action in the opposite side of the city, they should deal with above problems as well.