"Throughout the country last year, as more and more children below the age of nine participated in youth-league sports, over 40,000 of these young players suffered injuries. When interviewed for a recent study, youth-league soccer players in several major cities also reported psychological pressure exerted by coaches and parents to win games. Furthermore, education experts say that long practice sessions for these sports take away time that could be used for academic activities. Since the disadvantages outweigh any advantages, we in Parkville should discontinue organized athletic competition for children under nine."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

Here the author mentioned that more than 40,000 young players who participated in the youth-league sports suffered injuries. However, the author has not mentioned the total number of young players who participated and also the extent of these injuries is not mentioned. There may be a possibilty that figure mentioned might be a small percentage of total youth participation. Perhaps, minor injuries while playing might not be worth considering.

Secondly , the author is trying to highlight the psychological pressure experienced by young players in several major cities from a recent study. However, the sample space of the study is not mentioned. A study of small group of players from a few major cities might not be considered true for entire participation of youth-league players. Additionally, the extent of adversity of psycological pressure is also not clearly mentioned. It is not always necessary that the psycological pressure the author is mentioning about will have a negative impact on the young players. There is a possibility that the pressure given to these young players by their coaches or parents might push them to perform efficiently.

Then the author is quoting the views of several educational experts. According to the experts, the time assigned to the long practice sessions can be used for academic advantages. It is true that the practice sessions might be time consuming in many cases, however one cannot consider it them as unimportant. The practice sessions help young players in improvising their physical fitness as well as their athletic abilities. Perhaps one cannot consider the time utilized by young players for practice as a disadvantage. Also, by reducing the time allocated for practice sessions, one cannot conclude that that time will solely (be) used for the academic activities.

The author is further trying to highlight that the participation in the youth-league sports is a disadvantage for young players and is proposing to discontinue such activities in the Parkville for children under nine. However, discontinuing the youth-league sports might not convert those assumed disadvantages into advantages. Furthermore, as mentioned above, discontinuing athletic activities might make children under nine more prone to the injuries and also, there is no guarantee of their better academic performance. Thereupon, the author's suggestion of discontinuing athletic activities might not be a feasible solution.