"Twenty years ago, Dr. Field, a noted anthropologist, visited the island of Tertia and concluded from his observations that children in Tertia were reared by an entire village rather than by their own biological parents. However, my recent interviews with children living in the group of islands that includes Tertia show that these children spend much more time talking about their biological parents than about other adults in the village. This research of mine proves that Dr. Field's conclusion about Tertian village culture is invalid and thus that the observation-centered approach to studying cultures is invalid as well. The interview-centered method that my team of graduate students is currently using in Tertia will establish a much more accurate understanding of child-rearing traditions there and in other island cultures."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

dr. field an anthropologist twenty years ago cocnluded based on his observations that children in tertia are reared by the entire village rather than just the parents. now the author here contadicts dr. field’s observation based approach by giving a interview centred method.he supports his argument with the fact that when he interviewed children in group of islands alonwith tertia he found that children talk more about their parentsrather than other adults of the village.However there are certain flaws in the authors argument.

Firstly the author has predicted that since the children are not talking much about other adults of the village child rearing is mainly done by there biological parents.It is not necessary that the one’s who are not talked much about have no role in helping.also the author has not clearly stated that other adults of village were not completely mentioned in the interview, maybe other persons were not talked much but the kids had praised or acknowledged them in their interview.other than these there is no clarification about how these interview was conducted and how many children were included in these interview and how was there mature or mindset during the interview.If only a small fraction of children are interviewed than chances of these interview centered approach to be accurate are very less.

also the questions asked during the interview are very important.If the children are asked major amount of questions related to there biological parents they might not be able to mention others in there answers or hypothetically the role of other adults in village was nowhere questioned.The author has mentioned that dr. field concluded these observation twenty years ago, now twenty years is a long time and many things can change.Probably due to some disputes among the villagers the child rearing tradition has become extinct and now children are primarily reared by biological parents only.

Finally I would like to conclude that author can’t prove his method superior than other method but denying other methods conclusion twenty years ago and also there are certain flaws in authors argument which the author needs to resolve before concluding anything based on his method.