"Twenty years ago, Dr. Field, a noted anthropologist, visited the island of Tertia and concluded from his observations that children in Tertia were reared by an entire village rather than by their own biological parents. However, my recent interviews with

In the article written by an anthropologist, DR. Karp, it had been mentioned that Dr. Field's report about the child-rearing practices in Tertia is wrong and his approach is also wrong so that new approach- interview centered- should be followed so that the better results can be found. He gave this recommendation based upon his research on the group of islands that includes Tertia. Outwardly, it seems plausible but upon the closer inspection, it suffers from several stated and unstated assumptions. So, for the better evaluation of the given argument, the following assumptions should be considered.

First of all, the author assumes that the Field study and the report given by the Field is wrong, however, it might be possible that the study of both the anthropologists was right. Because there is a 20 years gap between the two studies. It might be possible that, twenty years ago, children were primarily cared for by the entire village and they practice the joint family system. But, with the passage of time, people become more aware of independent and started a nuclear family system and their children are raised by their biological parents mostly. If this assumption holds true then, the author's recommendation will be undermined.

Secondly, the author impetuously gave his recommendations as it might be possible that the study of both the Field and Carp were wright, as Dr. Field carried his research only in Tertia and based upon that findings he gave his recommendations where as Dr. Carp carried out his research in several islands out of which one is Tertia. It might be possible that the children in the Tertia islands are primarily rared by society, but because of the child-rearing practices in the other islands were mainly by their biological parents as a result, overall results were found that child-rearing practices were primarily by their parents. If this is true then the given recommendations will prove less effective.

Furthermore, the author hastily assumes that the interview center approach is good over the observation center approach for the study, but it might be possible that the observation center approach is better or both the approaches are better without proper judgment. So, it is necessary to examine possible alternatives prior to giving any recommendation.

In a nutshell, the author hastily assumes that his approach of collecting data is right and his findings are correct and previous anthropologist was wrong based upon impetuous generalization, so for the better evaluation of the given argument and the increase in the reliability of the given argument, possible alternatives should be studied so that the given argument validity will be increased.