Twenty years ago, Dr. Field, a noted anthropologist, visited the island of Tertia and concluded from his observations that children in Tertia were reared by an entire village rather than by their own biological parents. However, my recent interviews with children living in the group of islands that includes Tertia show that these children spend much more time talking about their biological parents than about other adults in the village. This research of mine proves that Dr. Field's conclusion about Tertian village culture is invalid and thus that the observation-centered approach to studying cultures is invalid as well. The interview-centered method that my team of graduate students is currently using in Tertia will establish a much more accurate understanding of child-rearing traditions there and in other island cultures

Dr. Karp fails to support his conclusion with concrete and clear examples on numerous instances. Therefore the argument certainly lacks validity.

Firstly, Dr.karp mentions interviewing a group of islands in which includes Tertia, Here he fails to mention the exact proportion of children from each island used to reach his conclusion. All we know, he could have interviewed a small number when compared with Dr.Field research who observed the children in Tertia and the practices they follow to rear the children. Hence, Dr.Karp's conclusion falls apart, although if Dr.Karp would have given more detail regarding the split and focus on each of the islands the conclusion could be strengthened, Nonetheless He stills has to provide irrefutable evidence regarding the children's honesty in responding to his questions.

Secondly, Talking and observation are fundamentally unrelated. Dr.Field observed the behavior of children and people in the village in their natural milieu before making any conclusions. Also, A myriad of details are missed when we are simply interviewing someone with directed questions, Therefore it may be partially warranted that observation is a better tool than talking vice-versa is definetely not true. Also, even if Dr.Karp is able to provide us with the specifics regarding the interview questions, it cannot be assumed that Dr. Fields' observation was not equally efficient. Therefore, the conclusion is heading downhill with this unwarranted assumption.

Thirdly, if children in Tertia specifically talked about their biological parents doesn't imply in any sense that children are not reared collectively by the people of the village. Dr.Karp misinterprets the fact, the situation could be that the biological parents did not pay enough attention to their kids because of their collective approach. Dr. Karp's leap provides a lot of room for assumptions, even if these assumptions are valid the conclusion lacks validity on numerous other factors.