“Twenty years ago, Dr. Field, a noted anthropologist, visited the island of Tertia and concluded from his observations that children in Tertia were reared by an entire village rather than by their own biological parents. However, my recent interviews with children living in the group of islands that includes Tertia show that these children spend much more time talking about their biological parents than about other adults in the village. This

research of mine proves that Dr. Field’s conclusion about Tertian village culture is invalid and thus that the observation-centered approach to studying cultures is invalid as well. The interview-centered method that my team of graduate students is currently using in Tertia will establish a much more accurate understanding of child rearing traditions there and in other island cultures.”

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how

In the article, Dr. Karp argues that the conclusion of Dr.field, that states that children in tertia island is brought up by all of village rather than their own natural parents, is completely wrong. The author came with this conclusion based on his latest interviews with children in this island which shows that these children spend more time talking about their biological parents than other. Also, this conclusion is supported by interview-centered approach that done by his graduate students that establish a deep understanding about children rearing nature there and in other island cultures. In order to discuss what evidences are needed to evaluate the argument, three pieces of evidences should be examined.

First of all, the author suggests that because the children spent much time talking about their biological parents, it means that they were brought up by them. However, This may not be accurate as their talking about their parents comes from the possibility that they are yearning to their parents and curious to know about them. If this scenario is right then the argument is weakened.

Secondly, the author states that this conclusion is strengthened by the interviews held by his students with children on the island without providing statistics or the questions used. So there is a possibility that the percentages of the children who were interviewed are less than 50% therefore it won't be an accurate survey. Another possibility that his graduate students may not be expert enough to set optimal questions to help in this conclusion. For example, one of the questions may be something like "do you like your biological parents more than other people in the island?" However naturally humans tend to love their parents more than others even if they never see them. If any of the above is valid then the whole argument is not hold water.

Finally, Dr. Karp said that the interview-based approach help him to understand the rearing methods in Tertia island and other ones. Is that imply that part of children who participate in the survey are from other islands? if the answer is yes, it may be the case that major of children in the survey were from other islands. Thus, the results of this approach cannot be accurate. If the pervious is true then the whole conclusion falls down.

In conclusion, the argument as it stands now is considerably flawed due to reliance on several unwarranted assumptions. If the author is able to provide us with more reliable evidence that takes into account the above possible scenarios that weaken the conclusion like missing of information about the percentages of children who are interviewed from Tertia island and questions used. Also, the details like the quality and experience of his students who performed the interviews can be provided to give more insights. If the above evidence are supplied, Then we may be able to consider the possibility of a conclusion.

In conclusion, the argument as it stands now is considerably flawed due to the reliance on several unwarranted assumptions. If the author is able to provide us with more reliable evidence besides taking into account the above scenarios that weaken his conclusion. Then we may be able to evaluate the whole argument.