"A ten-year nationwide study of the effectiveness of wearing a helmet while bicycling indicates that ten years ago, approximately 35 percent of all bicyclists reported wearing helmets, whereas today that number is nearly 80 percent. Another study, however, suggests that during the same ten-year period, the number of bicycle-related accidents has increased 200 percent. These results demonstrate that bicyclists feel safer because they are wearing helmets, and they take more risks as a result. Thus, to reduce the number of serious injuries from bicycle accidents, the government should concentrate more on educating people about bicycle safety and less on encouraging or requiring bicyclists to wear helmets."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The health newsletter recommends that government should not enourage the bicyclists to wear helmets to alleviate bicycle-related accidents and their injuries. The author come to this conclusion by relying on the studies that show that the increase in the number of bicyclists who wear helmets in last 10 years in accompanied by increase in the bicycle-related accidents. Before this recommendation can be evaluated and in order to check the viability of conclusion, two question must be answered.

First of all, does the growing in feeling of safety because of helmets is the only factor that cause the increase in accidents? it's possible that due to the increase in the number of vehicles in roads lead to many accidents because of cars which get out their lanes and penetrate the bicycle lanes leading to many accidents. Also, it may be the case that number of bicylists increase the past years and government did not build enough safe lanes for them in road, hence making them ride their bicycles in the vehicles' lanes causing more accidents. If any of the above cases is true then the conclusion is weakened.

Secondly, is the number of accidents is reflecting the growth in number of serious injuries? perhaps, the present more number of accidents cause less serious injuries than the past as the bicyclists are more in the present time to use helmets than the past which help them to avoid critical injuries. Additionally, The increase in the number of accidents may caused due to the increase in the number of bicyclist only. If any of the pervious scenarios is true then the whole conclusion doesn't hold water anymore.

In Conclusion, the argument as it stands now is considerably flawed due to the reliance on several unwarranted assumptions. If the author is able to provide us with more reliable pieces of evidence that take into account the above scenarios which weaken the conclusion, Then we may consider the possibility of the argument. Otherwise, applying this recommendation without providing solid reasoning may lead to more accidents and serious of injuries.