Humans arrived in the Kaliko Islands about 7,000 years ago, and within 3,000 years most of the large mammal species that had lived in the forests of the Kaliko Islands had become extinct. Yet humans cannot have been a factor in the species’ extinctions, because there is no evidence that the humans had any significant contact with the mammals. Further, archaeologists have discovered numerous sites where the bones of fish had been discarded, but they found no such areas containing the bones of large mammals, so the humans cannot have hunted the mammals. Therefore, some climate change or other environmental factor must have caused the species’ extinctions.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In the argument, the author states that the humans who lived on the Kaliko islands since 7000 years ago, have nothing to do with the extinction of large mammals and this is the result of climatic or environmental factors. The author came to this conclusion because of the lack of evidence that humans had strong contact with big mammals. Also, the absence of their fossils that would exist if the humans were hunting them. In order to check the viability of this conclusion, Three assumptions need to be examined.

First of all, one of the assumptions the author made is that the increase in contact with large mammals is directly proportional to their extinction. However, it's possible that humans have no contact at all with large mammals and still affects their existence. For example, the residents of the island may utilize their living environment and food resources in a negative way by cutting the trees for building the houses. Also, they may extensively use the plants and "small-sized mammals" that they feed on, for producing the needed food or medicines. So if one of these examples is valid then this conclusion is weakened.

Secondly, because the archeologists failed to find any bones for large mammals, does that mean that the humans never hunt them? There is a possibility that the humans hunted these mammals and make use of their bones in making necklaces for the females or by burning them to use in any kind of rituals like what used to happen in old times. So the bones are no more exist in their raw form. If the above is true, then the argument doesn't hold water.

Finally, If the author's conclusion is assumed to be true: the extinction of these large mammals is due to climatic or environmental factors. Is this imply that the residents of the island do not have any attribution? This may not be true. For instance, the residents may throw some harmful wastes in water sources leading to the poisoning of these mammals. Another probable scenario is that extinction may be caused because of climate change that resulted from the human activity of cutting the forests. if either of these is true then the whole argument falls down.

In conclusion, the argument as it stands now is considerably flawed due to the reliance on several unwarranted assumptions. If the author is able to provide us with more reliable evidence besides taking into account the above scenarios that weaken his conclusion. Then we may be able to consider the possibility of the argument.