Governments should place few, if any, restrictions on scientific research and development.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

Throughout history, scientific research and development played an important role in the evolution of our human civilization. However, some governments still put a lot of restrictions in front of them. Based on this fact, the prompt recommends that these governments should remove any barriers that restrict the progress of scientific research and development. In my opinion, i strongly agree with the suggestion and argue that all governments should take full advantage of scientific research and development by getting rid of any restrictions for the next three reasons that show their benefits of them.

Firstly, the scientific research and development boosted the global economy in the last decades by contributing in the huge increase in the production that lead to availability of goods with cheaper prices than before. For instance, without the scientific research, we wouldn't have artificial intelligence that is implemented in many of machines and robots that make them more productive than the humans in factories. Also, the scientific research and development were the corner stone in the evolution of genetics science that inspired the humans to alter the genes of the plants in order to produce more fruits than ever. Therefore, if the the governments back then didn't decide to support the scientific research, the humans would struggle by now, with limited resources that can cause a collapse in the global economy.

Secondly, The scientific research in the medical sector increased the ability of humans to tackle any new pandemic or epidemic that can put the world population in the risk of extinction. For example, lately, the scientific community has saved the humans from the recent corona virus (covid-19) that strike the world and lead to death of many people, by developing and testing many effective vaccines in short time. Thus, without a proper support for scientific research and development by many of governments around world, the human race would face more loss of souls may be extinction.

Finally, scientific research is the human's last chance to survive in the future. Nowadays, the world faces a lot of severe natural disasters which are the consequences of environmental and climatic changes. These changes may lead our earth planet to be no more suitable for humans to live in. So the government's support for the current scientific space research, which aims to explore the other planets in order to find suitable habitat for the humans in the future, become crucial. Hence, if the governments put any type of restrictions in scientific research of space field, then the human race will lose the hope for surviving in the future.

Of course, some may argue that government should put limitations on funding scientific research and redirect them to more useful areas. if we do that, the human race will lose the chance to survive and develop in the present or future. Accordingly, freeing scientific research and development from restrictions, is a matter of life or death.