"Of the two leading real estate firms in our town—Adams Realty and Fitch Realty—Adams Realty is clearly superior. Adams has 40 real estate agents; in contrast, Fitch has 25, many of whom work only part-time. Moreover, Adams' revenue last year was twic

In this argument, the author concludes that Adams Realty is more beneficial than Fitch Realty which are real estate firms in the town. To support this conclusion, the author points out that (1) Adams has more agents than Fitch has and most of employees of Fitch work part-time, (2) an average of outcomes of Adams in the last year was higher than Fitch’s one, and (3) Adams sold the author’s home in only a month last year while Fitch wasted four months in selling his another home ten years ago. Careful scrutiny reveals this argument is spurious and divisive in several respects.

Basically, this argument is problematic in that it assures that number of employees of those firms and their employee type play a vital role in calculating the quality of work of the two firms. Though, this might be the case, it is still possible that a few number of part-time workers can make more profitable outputs to their company. Perhaps, Adams has too many employees so that its manager would not be able to control effectively the workers. If this is true, this argument cannot convince us.

Secondly, even if we concede that the quality of work relate to the number of workers and their work type, this argument is still dubious in that it assumes that the last year is a typical period to estimate the two firms’ work efficiencies. In this regard, however, it is possible that Fitch had severe trouble in the last year, which led to the decline of its outcome while Adams had tremendous advantage to sell homes. For example, an area located Fitch had disasters that resulted to the significant decreasing of the value of the homes in the area. Until the author eliminate this possibility, this argument is still controversial.

Lastly, stating the author’s personal experience, he relies on another assumption that there is no change in house selling between ten years ago and the last year. In this regard, however, the reality may go against this assumption. Perhaps, in the last year, many residents moved to the area in Adams from other cities, thus there were more people who seek their houses than ten years ago. If this fact had influence largely on selling house of Adams, we cannot evaluate this argument properly.

To sum, this argument is poorly substantiated and fragile as it stands. To make it tenable, the author should inform that the effect of the number of workers and their type on the quality of work and the reliable evidence to prove that the last year was representative period to evaluate the two firms. To assess it better, we need to know that the extent to which the residential real estate market changed during the decade between the sales of these two homes.