"Of the two leading real estate firms in our town---Adams Realty and Fitch Realty---Adams is

clearly superior. Adams has 40 real estate agents. In contrast, Fitch has 25, many of whom

work only part-time. Moreover, Adams' revenue last year was twice as high as that of Fitch,

and included home sales that averaged $168,000, compared to Fitch's $144,000. Homes

listed with Adams sell faster as well: ten years ago, I listed my home with Fitch and it took

more than four months to sell; last year, when I sold another home, I listed it with Adams, and it

took only one month. Thus, if you want to sell your home quickly and at a good price, you

should use Adams."

The above argument takes into consideration two leading realty firms in a town and tries to establish the superiority of one real estate firm, Adams Realty over another, Fitch Realty. In order to support this, the author cites various examples. One such example is that the real estate agents of Adams Realty outnumber the real estate agents of Fitch Realty. Apart from this, the author also mentions that the revenue garnered by Adams was twice as much as the revenue garnered by Fitch. In addition to this, the author also quotes a personal experience with both of these firms wherein listing with Adams resulted in speedier results than Fitch. Though the author substantiates his argument with various instances, the argument remains feeble as it stands.

Firstly, the author mentions that there are more real estate agents in Adams than in Fitch. This doesn’t necessarily have to equate to the former being superior to the latter. In fact, sometimes having more workforce than needed can prove to be counterproductive, we all have heard of the proverb ‘Too many cooks spoil the broth’, after all. Apart from this, the author mentions no evidence as to how having a larger workforce has served to enhance the firm’s overall performance.

Secondly, the author also cites how the revenue of Adams in the previous year was double the revenue of Fitch in the same year and how the average home sales of Adams was greater than that of Fitch. This again fails to be convincing enough as taking just one year into consideration is not strong enough an argument to establish results. There are several factors attributable to the revenue which have not been considered or even mentioned by the author.

Lastly, the author chooses to substantiate his/her take by providing an account of his own experience. What undermines this, is the fact that the account narrated by the author is ten years old. There can be several changes that take place in a span of ten years. This changes can be related to technology as well as nuances between demands of the population then and now. Thus, this once again fails to prove his point.

In conclusion, though the author cites several examples to support his argument, these seem very facile and do not persuade one enough into believing that Adams Realty is superior to Fitch Realty. The author must take into consideration several other factors before drawing a conclusion.