According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising

The author tries to establish that the lack of popularity of the movies produced by the Super Screen Movie Production Company was merely due to the lax in the advertising of the company. In order to support his argument, the author cites that the movie received positive reviews which suggest that the movies were, in fact, above par. However, the argument rests on unsubstantive facts and remains flimsy as it stands.

Firstly, the author fails to realise that the movies which receive positive reviews are not always sure to be loved by audiences. For example, certain movies, say intellectual movies are not bound to be liked by everyone. Even though it takes great effort in creating such movies, they are meant to serve the classes and not the masses. Thus, it is quite plausible that these movies do not earn a lot of profits though they receive positive feedbacks from all movie reviewers.

Secondly, it is not just the advertising that plays a vital role in promoting the company. The failure of the movies produced by the production company can also be attributed to previous experiences. It can be possible that the people have not liked the movies produced by the production house in the previous years and choose to refrain from watching any further movies produced by them. In such a scenario, people are less likely to be persuaded by advertisements.

The failure of the movies can also be attributed to the artists involved in the movie. For example, if the artists involved in the movie are less popular or say debutants, people are less likely to go for such movies, even if the reviews are positive. Certain movies with a stellar starcast are more likely to make profits even if the storyline is below par, because of the adulation by their fans. Thus, this can be one of the reasons which the author fails to take an account of.

Thus we see that the author fails to consider scenarios which can be attributed to the condition faced by the company. Therefore the solution offered by the author cannot be considered an ultimate solution to the problem faced by the company and even involves the risk of profligation of the resources of the company.