The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry or other fields is bu instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

The author asserts that the best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation and not competition. Though it is true that healthy competition can serve to enhance one's abilities and help one flourish under pressure, too much competition can prove to be counterproductive. On the other hand, cooperation with his/her peers can help instill qualities which can assist them in a professional setup. Thus, I firmly agree with the author on this assertion.

In today's generation, where everyone strives to be better, the environment in which students sustain has become extremely toxic, with everyone wanting to master every skill possible. This, in a professional set-up can prove to be counterproductive. For example, consider a group project of building a car wherein everyone is allotted one task as per their abilities. To accomplish this task, everyone has to make sure that they complete the task allotted to them properly. Now, if the team involved in the task tries to compete with his or her contemporaries in every possible aspect, say the person concerned with assembling the parts tries to compete with the one responsible for building the engine, all the attempts would end in futility thus leading to an overall wastage of time, energy and resources. If, however, each member contributes his part diligently while cooperating with his peers, it would bring out the best in each member and eventually have fruitful results.

Another example where cooperation plays a pivotal role is the ecosystem itself. We all are aware of the fact of how insects help in the process of pollination by transferring of the pollen grains from one flower to another. This is an extremely important phenomenon in the environment. Similarly, birds and animals who feed on fruits are responsible for the transportation of the seeds and help sustaining the environment. Thus, cooperation among various elements in a system is extremely important for the overall development of the system.

With the increasing demand of cooperation, we observe various educational institutions incorporating soft skills in their curriculum which include activities like group discussion and group projects. One gets to learn a lot in such ventures and also develops abilities to interact with people which is an extremely important quality. These ventures help people convey their ideas effectively. It serves as a platform where people can not only share ideas but also learn a lot from others by listening to their idealogies. If however, one tries to compete with his contemporaries, it would lead to feelings of envy and hostility which has a negative impact on not only the project but also the person bearing them.

Thus, to survive in a corporate environment, the skills of cooperation are extremely necessary as competition can turn out to have a negative impact on the team and have undesirable results.