"Two years ago the city voted to prohibit skateboarding in Central Plaza. They claimed that skateboard users were responsible for the litter and vandalism that were keeping other visitors from coming to the plaza. In the past two years, however, there has only been a small increase in the number of visitors to Central Plaza, and litter and vandalism are still problematic. Skateboarding is permitted in Monroe Park, however, and there is no problem with litter or vandalism there. In order to restore Central Plaza to its former glory, then, we recommend that the city lift its prohibition on skateboarding in the plaza."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author of the argument highlights that the city should lift its prohibition of skateboarding in the central plaza enacted two years ago because there was no change in the number of visitors visiting the plaza. However, the premises upon which he puts his claim are fallacious. For the support of which more evidence needs to be given.

The first assumption that lacks some semblance of truth and can be overtly impugned is the fact that the number of people visiting the plaza did not increase dramatically during the past two years. However, it does not lend credence to the argument since there is not a sufficient evidence to support if the low level of visiting the plaza was because of a prohibition of skateboarding. One point that should be considered is that there are many factors that can appeal visitors' attention to qualities, a location of the plaza, good prices and so forth. In fact, the author does not show to the extent these factors play a role in visiting the central plaza. If skateboarders are allowed in the central plaza, what if the number of visitors remain constant and do not increase?

Furthermore, the author points out that the Monroe Park lift the prohibition and skateboarding are allowed there, and there is no problem with litter and vandalism. Although it might seem tenable at a face, it has some defects due to the paucity of evidence that would consolidate the premise the otherwise. One of the main, if not the only, problem with the premise is that maybe Monroe Park assigns an especial location for skateboarding, which there might be no interference with visitors and vandalism. Or maybe the small number of people preferred to visit Monroe Park because of its far-place location. Indeed, make a comparison between two centers might not be wise owing to the fact that situations and conditions of two Plaza are different in case of accessibility, commodities, facilities, being well-known and so forth.

Putting the two assumptions above aside, there is still room for doubt. As set forth by the author the skateboarders should not be banned in order to provide an opportunity for the plaza to restore to its previous condition. Nevertheless, the rationale behind this premise could be challenged owing to an unsettle evidence to support if restore skateboarding could be helpful for the plaza. One point that should not go unnoticed is that although restore skateboarding might attract visitors to the plaza, there is no guarantee litter and vandalism diminish dramatically. What if vandalism and litter increase drastically? What if these litters and vandalism again cause people not to visit the central plaza in the future?

Having scrutinized all the premises, a logical conclusion that can be drawn is that there are numbers of evidence having been ignored by the author while the presence of which could add to the logic of each premise.