"Two years ago the city voted to prohibit skateboarding in Central Plaza. They claimed that skateboard users were responsible for the litter and vandalism that were keeping other visitors from coming to the plaza. In the past two years, however, there has only been a small increase in the number of visitors to Central Plaza, and litter and vandalism are still problematic. Skateboarding is permitted in Monroe Park, however, and there is no problem with litter or vandalism there. In order to restore Central Plaza to its former glory, then, we recommend that the city lift its prohibition on skateboarding in the plaza."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The author of the argument purportedly highlights that the Central Plaza should terminate its prohibition on skateboarding after two years in order to increase the number of visitors and enhance revenue. However, the premises upon which he puts his claim are fallacious. For the support of which some critical, yet ignored question need to be addressed.

The first assumption that lacks some semblance of truth and can be overtly impugned is the fact that the city prevents the activity of skateboarders during two years ago. However, it does not lend credence to the argument since a question that might arise is whether the city banned their activities because of the decrease in revenue and income. One point that should be considered is that maybe the city prohibited skateboarding because of different reasons. Indeed, maybe skateboarders did not respect the laws and rules in the central plaza and the city decided to ban their activities.

The author also points out that this restriction on skateboarding diminishes the number of visitors to the central plaza. Although it might seem tenable at a face, it has some defects since you can always ask this question if skateboarding is the main reason of stagnation in central Plaza. One of the main, if not the only, problem with the premise is that the author does not mention anything about the economic situation. As a matter of fact, maybe people did not prefer to visit the Central plaza because of inflation and economic recession. Or perhaps they did not find the plaza a good place to visit due to its location, prices, workers, quality and so forth. Alongside that, what if allowing skateboarding in the central plaza could not appeal visitors? Indeed, there is no guarantee people visit the Plaza after repelling this prohibition.

Putting the two assumptions above aside, there is still room for doubt. As set forth by the author skateboarders are not the main reason for litter and vandalism like Monroe Park that skateboarding is permitted and there is no problem with vandalism and litter. Nevertheless, the rationale behind this premise could be challenged owing to an unsettled question if lift the prohibition of skateboarding could reduce litter and vandalism. One point that should not go unnoticed is that skateboarders can easily cause damage in any place and something disruption may come up. In fact, maybe Monroe Park assign a specific place to skateboarders or perhaps a few number of people visit the Monroe Park, who knows?

Having scrutinized all the premises, a logical conclusion that can be drawn is that there are a number of questions, having been ignored by the author while the answer of which could add to the logic of each premise.