Two years ago radio station WCQP in Rockville decided to increase the number of call in advice programs that it broadcast since that time its share of the radio audience in the Rockville listening area has increased significantly Given WCQP 039 s rec

The argument claims that increased share of radio audience occurred due to increase in call in advice programs and cites that nationwide survey also supported that many people were drawn to radio only because of call in programs. Though the argument may have some merit in claiming that call in advice program may had impact on increased share but the author uses poor reasoning to support his claim by using questionable premises and assumptions that makes the argument out to debate.

The argument assumes that only call -in advice programs was key parameter in increasing the share of radio audience ;But the argument does not show any evidence other than unsubstantiated premises which show that many listeners were interested in such programs. The argument could have considerably strengthened if author had mentioned all the other relavent parameters which might have had a major impact on radio broadcast success.

The argument also backs its claim by citing the survey as evidence where survey concluded that many radio listeners said they were interested but the argument is flawed ad that sample size of survey is not mentioned clearly and the survey might not be accurate representation of the entire population. The survey results might be skewed by many reasons as respondents might have inaccurately misinterpreted the questions or the survey might have given the respondents very few options and in which they might have choosen this one as they have no other reasonable choice in the options.

The argument also assumes that since the call in advice strategy worked for WCQP so it comes to the conclusion that it will also work for KICK. The argument states a false analogy by comparing two radio stations of two different places .The two places might be completely different in audience and their tastes .what has worked for some company may not work for other and what if wcqp earlier did not have such programs before and has just introduced. It might be the case that kick already has dedicated call in advice programs which need not be increased further as the users in this place might be bored by this programs and want to have other innovative programs.This anamoly of comparison could have reduced by showing that two places are similar in key aspects and have similar previous broadcast list.

Finally, The argument is out to debate as it has flaws and assumptions as stated earlier and could have further strengthened if has considered all the assumptions and provided evidence to support it.The author also uses the principle of generalization which might not be applied from one case to other case.