Two years ago, radio station WCQP in Rockville decided to increase the number of call-in advice programs that it broadcast; since that time, its share of the radio audience in the Rockville listening area has increased significantly. Given WCQP's recent success with call-in advice programming, and citing a nationwide survey indicating that many radio listeners are quite interested in such programs, the station manager of KICK in Medway recommends that KICK include more call-in advice programs in an attempt to gain a larger audience share in its listening area.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The station manager of KICK radio station concludes that they should include more call in advice programs to gain a larger audience share in Medway’s listening area.

Nonetheless, it reveals several instances of poor reasoning and ill-defined terminology. To support his inference, the station manager mentioned the success of a radio station in Rockville and cites a nationwide survey which indicated that many radio listeners are interested in such programs. Howbeit, careful scrutiny of the evidence shows that it provides little tenable support to the manager’s supposition and hence the argument can be considered incomplete. Many questions are to be answered to hold the manager’s inference.

First of all, what worked for a radio station in Rockville might not work for the KICK radio station in Medway. It might be the case that the listening area of Rockville is different from the listening area in Medway. So, if that is the case then we cannot except to get the success for KICK radio station as WCQP station in Rockville. The preferences of the audience in Rockville might be different from the audience’s preferences in Medway. For example, the audience in Medway might prefer news and debate programs instead of call in advice programs. Also, the competition between businesses might be different in both the areas. Suppose, WCQP might not have any competing radio station in Rockville whereas, KICK radio station might have a rival radio station in Medway covering a larger listening area. So, it was easier for WCQP to succeed and not the call in advice program but lack of a rival radio company might have led to WCQP’s success. If the manager provides a proper comparative and comprehensive study, which compares all the aforementioned points between Medway and Rockville, it will be easier to decide whether his conclusion is reasonable or not.

Furthermore, WCQP increased their call in advice programs two years ago. So, what was in demand two years ago might not be in demand today. Audience preferences might have changed in the past two years. So, concluding the argument based on this is not valid unless there is evidence supporting that call in advice programs are still in demand and are preferred by the audience.

Lastly, the station master cites a nationwide survey which showed that many radio listeners are still quite interested in such programs. Now, the manager failed to mention the details of the survey. If the questions were asked only related to call in advice programs and it is obvious to obtain favourable results. If the survey questions compare call in programs with other radio programs such as news and debate, then this survey can be used to substantiate the manager’s inference.

To sum up what has been stated so far, the manager’s argument is unpersuasive as it stands. To bolster it further, more evidence is required, perhaps in the form of a detailed analysis of the points discussed above.