Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

It is more important for students to understand ideas and concepts than it is for them to learn facts.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

I definitely agree with the statement that it is more crucial for the students to understand a concept than just learning facts. I think this for the reasons which I will explore in the following paragraphs.

To begin with, what is the point of making students learn facts if they do not understand the reason or the idea of how that fact is an important thing to learn. For example, if the students are just made to learn the dates of the major events which took place during the American Civil War without telling them why the war took place in the first place itself. Then, how will they know why the war is such an important event in US history. There is no point in making them just blindly learn the facts without explaining the idea or history of these facts.

Furthermore, I think that it is more important for the student to know how and why something is a fact rather than just learning a fact. To explain this I would like to talk of the example of the American Civil War which I mentioned earlier. Now, what do you think would be great, a student knowing that the dates of the war or a student knowing the reason for the war. Knowing a fact without reason is like doing a job without even knowing why you are doing it.

Lastly, I think that the purpose of education is to educate students. To make them know and understand the histories, ideas, theories, and philosophies of the world. So, if greater emphasis is made on just making them learn facts than understanding concepts, the purpose of the education will be lost. Also, if the students are said to learn a fact without encouraging them to question themselves why this is a fact, and what is the reason that people believe it as a fact. It might block their thinking capabilities. They will not be able to question the existence of things around them. They won’t be able to create ideas of their own. This might lead to the creation of a future generation with no mind of their own. The future might see no new inventions because they were never taught to think and question in schools and were just made to learn facts. The future of our planet will be dark.

To sum up, I think that more emphasis should be given to explaining ideas and concepts in schools than making students learn facts.