Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Our current way of life will have a negative impact on future generations.

I definitely agree with the statement that our current way of living might have a negative effect on the future generations. I think this for the following reasons.

To begin with, we have exploited the natural resources so much to fulfil our current life needs that nothing is left for the future generations. The increasing number of cars and other vehicles used by us for easy transportation, have used up all of the world’s petroleum source without thinking about its impact on the future of human beings. Also, we have used up almost all the fossil fuels to generate energy. The future generations will have to struggle to generate energy to carry out various activities and look for alternatives. Though there are alternatives such as energy production with the help of sunlight but they are costlier.

Furthermore, the air conditioners which we used in the summer vacations and the large industries which produce goods to fulfil our needs, release harmful chemicals in the atmosphere. Thus, causing air pollution. The chlorofluorocarbons released by the ACs cause depletion of the ozone layer which protects us from the harmful sun rays. Forest areas are destroyed to build more industries and factories due to increasing human demands. All these cause a huge impact on the environment, creating more harsh and difficult climatic conditions for the future generations to live in.

Lastly, the increased deforestation done to fulfil our current living standards will lead to less number of trees in the world. This can further lead to lack of enough oxygen for the future generations to breathe in. They might have to carry oxygen tanks to respire.

To sum up, our current living standards and needs will have a devastating impact on the future generations. Thus, it is important that we practice sustainable development and save our planet earth for the future generations as well.