Typically, as people age, their bone mass decreases, making them more vulnerable to bone fractures. A recent study concludes that the most effective way to reduce the risk of fractures in later life is to take twice the recommended dose of vitamin D and c

This argument is about an effective way that can preclude more risk of the bone fractures of elderly. The author cites that based on his study, a group of old people who are using supplements of vitamin D and calcium twice a day can reduce the risk of being hurt in the aspect of bone fracture. Although this remedy might have some positive effect on old people's health, the author can not provide enough and cogent reasons to generalize his recommendation to all the people.

The first and the most important flaw that springs to mind is that the language of the editorial is very vague. In fact, the author cites" a group of French women" and then concludes that the results works for all human category. It should be noted that this study only applies on the France and only female gender. Needless to say that each countries or even continents have their own characteristics like climate and geographical conditions or other disparities which cause different impacts on the people of that location. As an example, some people have been exposure to the more amount of sun light and then absorb more vitamin D throughout their lifetime, and not surprisingly, they have a healthier life style. In other words, people of some places have better condition to have strong and vigorous bodies, which help them a lot to have a less bone fractures. Additionally, the sex is also important. This experiment is on the women and the author has forgotten to cite the results of such trend on the males. Hence, this conclusion that the French women have been cured and it can be generalized to all people seem absurd.

One more problems with this argument is that the study considers people on their eighties. In fact, this study is restricted to a specific age, so it should not be concluded that it is true for all ages. Moreover, the author has mentioned that the women in this study participated in the weightlifting program. However, the relationship between this program and the recommended dose of vitamin D and calcium have not even distributed. Possibly, there is a positive correlation between exercise and the reduction in the risk of bone fracture. Thus, the author should note that this program in which means has been applicable.

Additionally, the study cites that this recommendation is successful only to lower the rate of hip fracture. However, the author generalized this point to all bone fracture. If he tends to prove this fact, he should consider all aspects of bone fractures and provide other cogent evidence or clinical research and studies to have a convincing editorial. Besides, the author only considers those women whom have nurse caring. It is clear that these group compared with those resident without any nurse certainly have less fracture since these nurses have taken care of themselves.

In conclusion, the author can not offer strong and convincing reasons to have a proper editorial. The author must search for some solid evidence and strengthen his claims with more larger statistical society.