The vice president of human resources at Climpson Industries sent the following recommendation to the company's president.

"In an effort to improve our employees' productivity, we should implement electronic monitoring of employees' Internet use from their workstations. Employees who use the Internet from their workstations need to be identified and punished if we are to reduce the number of work hours spent on personal or recreational activities, such as shopping or playing games. By installing software to detect employees' Internet use on company computers, we can prevent employees from wasting time, foster a better work ethic at Climpson, and improve our overall profits."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The vice president of human resources at Climpson Industries has sent recommendation to the company's president that, "In an effort to improve our employees' productivity, we should implement electronic monitoring of employees' Internet use from their workstations. Employees who use the Internet from their workstations need to be identified and punished if we are to reduce the number of work hours spent on personal or recreational activities, such as shopping or playing games. The author has came to conclusion that, by installing software to detect employees Internet use on company computers, we can prevent employees from wasting time, foster a better work ethic at Climpson, and improve our overall profits. However before this recommendation can be properly evaluated three question must be answered.

First of all author is assuming that to improve employees productivity, electronic monitoring of employees internet use must be implemented, but what if this get’s more worse? For implementing this thing, one should hire a person to monitor all employees. Even though electronic monitoring will be there, human might be needed to analyse the output. And to analyse the whole industries employee one person might be less to monitor. And this may lead to high costing as company would need to hire person as per requirement and give salary to them as well as putting electronic monitoring system which would be expensive. Even there might be chance that employees gets to know about monitoring person and they may bribe that person and there will be no outcome. As mostly person who is analysing is trusted by higher authority and so higher authority will not always check the system. So by considering this situation the assumption is getting weaken to improve employees' productivity, by implementing electronic monitoring of employees' Internet use from their workstations.

Secondly, what if employees get to know about their monitoring, and about 90 percent of employees are not cunning? This may lead to great loss of workers as due to monitoring they may seem that, Climpson industry doesn’t have faith in their workers and so they are investigating them by monitoring. And so employees might leave the industries and go to industry where they are accepted as trustworthy employees. So this situation will not only lead to loss workers but also loss of money, as implementing of electronic monitoring might lead to high expenses. Therefore the assumption about improving employees productivity by monitoring their workstation is getting weaken.

Third case comes employees who use the Internet from their workstations need to be identified and punished if we are to reduce the number of work hours spent on personal or recreational activities, such as shopping or playing games. But instead, if industry uses this as activities like playing games and allow employees to spend one-fourth of work time involving in this scenario. Employees might get more productive as work time decreases and other activity might involve them to produce work faster. This may also lead to getting increase sales with happy employees. So, here also assumption is getting weaker about employees who use the Internet from their workstations need to be identified and punished if we are to reduce the number of work hours spent on personal or recreational activities, such as shopping or playing games.

In conclusion, the argument is flawed down with several unwanted assumptions. If author is able to analyse detail answer to above scenario’s through proper research and offer evidence, then it may work to implement electronic monitoring of employees Internet use from their workstations