It is more important to keep your old friends than to make new friends

There is no shortage of opinion on whether you should keep old friends or make new friends. But for me, I would definitely select to keep old friends. It is my firm belief that this decision will be much more beneficial. I feel this way for three reasons, which I will examine in the subsequent paragraphs.

First of all​, having old friends will be helpful in many situation. Trust is very important thing to consider for making friends because if trust is there people can be very kind to us. If a friend if old then we can easily trust him/her as we know them from years. ​My personal experience is a great example of this​. Once in my school days I did not told my friend that I am living this city permanently as I was worried how she will react. But I was very sure that if she comes to know this situation from anywhere else she would understand me instead of getting upset from me. For this reason​, I would prefer old friends over new friends as new friends does not handle the situation smoothly.

Secondly​, old friendship have very good bond which new friends may not have. Moreover old friends have more knowledge about you. ​Drawing from my own experience​, in my school I had two friends in my eight grade. One was from standard fifth and other was from standard seventh. Due to my dance exam I was not able to finish my homework and both my friends was knowing this scenario, but my fifth grade friend did homework as she knew that I do not like to come school without homework. Therefore it is certainly clear to see that old friends have more knowledge about you instead of new friends as they know you from years and old friends would never make selfish decision which new friends can make​.

Finally, old friends can even keep family members happy. In hard or emotional time of family old friends can help them to make calm and energetic. For example- my family was going through bad days due to my grandfather's heart operation and I was out of county for my job. One of my old friend reached the hospital and fulfilled my shortage, she did every thing which I need to do like cook the food and make everyone eat. If I had new friend which this situation might not have been handle so patiently. So I believe that old friends make you feel like famliy which new friends does not make you feel.

In conclusion, the issue of whether it is important to keep old friends or to make new friends is a complex scenario. Some have suggested that making friends will be helpful as we can know more and can be cosmopolitan. Nevertheless, I still contend that having old friends is advantageous as they can help you in any situation, they have good bond with you and even can keep your family members happy.