“There are times when it is acceptable not to tell the truth.”

Do you agree or disagree?

Truth can mean the absolute fact or some information that cannot be refuted. While there are times when lies would ease our lives, I do think that truth should always be spoken and communicated to whomever it concerns. The essay shall talk about this stance in detail in the upcoming paragraphs.

It is said that truth liberates a person. Consider the following example.

A person likes his friend badly and wants to date her. If he does not convey this information to her, she would never know the truth and if she has feelings for him, they would not be together because both hid the truth. However, if he tells her the truth, she can either accept or reject him. Either way, the person is free because he has nothing to hide and is upfront about his feelings to her. He would not have to worry about she liking someone else or regretting the fact that he had a chance but he never dared to do so.

Truth is also the key to better relationships and it fosters a bond. When people say things from their hearts without any filter, they can resolve their problems and strengthen their bonds. Let us look at an example. A couple lives together. The guy has the habit of playing loud music but this disturbs the girl. The girl thinks that if she would say this to her husband, he might stop listening to music. The husband is oblivion to this and thinks that the wife also enjoys it. Now if the wife does not say it, the husband would never know this and it would disturb her mental peace and disturb her. If she says, he would simply lower the volume or use earphones and the problem would be solved in an instant.

A person can live a more valuable life when presented with the truth. If a person knows the truth, he or she would value or devalue things better. Often, people who are diagnosed with terminal illnesses are not told the truth by their families. While this might save the person from misery, they would not have the time to live their remaining life on their terms and they would spend the time thinking there is a lot of time on their hands. The truth gives them the power to do whatever they want.

Thus, lying in difficult or challenging situations maybe the easier way out but the truth prevails and it leads to liberation, power, and better relationships and bonds between people.